OIWFA Rebrands as Ontario University Softball

Today, 21 years after its founding, the Ontario Intercollegiate Women’s Fastpitch Association (OIWFA) has announced its rebranding and will now be known as Ontario University Softball (OUS). The motion/decision to rebrand was passed by unanimous vote of the 13 member university teams at the organization’s 2021 Annual General Meeting in December 2021.

“This rebrand, including a new name and logo, is a key step in the modernization of our organization,” said OUS President Steph Manson. “The OIWFA has a long and proud history, which will always be celebrated. We are excited to enter a new era for our organization with the name “Ontario University Softball,” which is fresh, immediately recognizable and a more complete yet succinct description of our league.”

The OIWFA was founded in 2001 by the four original schools – York University, University of Toronto, McMaster University and University of Ottawa – and in 2002, the Ontario university women’s softball inaugural season saw eight teams competing. The league has since grown to include 13 teams, stretching from the University of Windsor in the west to Carleton University and the University of Ottawa in the east.

“Ontario University Softball will continue to strive to provide our student-athletes the visibility, recognition and experience they deserve as high-performance university athletes” said Manson.

The 2022 Ontario University Softball fall season will get underway in September. The top eight teams from regular season play will compete for the provincial title at the OUS Championship tournament in October.

For more information, please contact OUS President, Steph Manson, at stephanie.manson@hotmail.com.